Just In: Adamawa State House of assembly creates 22 new districts

The Adamawa State House of Assembly has just passed a bill for the creation of the total number of 22 new districts out of 97 communities who submitted memoranda, reports by NEWS PLATFORM indicated.

The new districts include; Nassarawo Abba and Karewa in Yola North LGA, Lamorde, Nasarawo and Yadafa in Mubi South LGA, Mildu (Mildu Shalmi) in Madagali LGA, Garum (Tapare), Serkum (Gurum-Nongvan) in Ganye LGA, Gangzamanu, Mayo Duken and Kogin Baba in Toungo LGA.

Others are; Vomni, Kilbawo and Mbangan Tiren in Jada LGA, Numan and Wayam in Numan LGA, Kawon Dowaya, Mbula Penda (Kulasala) Dili, Bilachi and Sabon Pegi in Demsa LGA and Zakawon (Boshikiri) in Guyuk LGA.

The creation of the districts followed a motion for the third reading of the bill by the Majority Leader, Hon. Hammantukur Yettisuri (Jada Mbulo) and seconded by the Minority Leader, Hon. Mohammed Mutawali (Girei).

During the plenary, the Member representing Guyuk constituency, Hon. Adwawa Donglock, in pursuance to order 81 sub 4 of the Assembly, asked his colleagues to delete Boshikiri from Lafiya District in Lamurde LGA.

It was as a result of the order that the legislators unanimously deleted Boshikiri from Lafiya District in Lamurde LGA, and resolved that Boshikiri community is now the headquarters of Zakawon district in Guyuk LGA as sought by Guyuk Legislator.

The creation of additional districts followed the consideration and adoption as amended by the report of Ad Hoc Committee for the creation of new districts during Tuesday plenary session.

The assembly during its sitting on Tuesday, adopted the committee’s report entitled, “The report of the Ad-hoc committee on a bill for a law to create districts for Adamawa state of Nigeria and to repeal the Adamawa state creation of districts law 1992”.

The report was presented by the Chairman of the committee and the Majority Leader and Member representing Jada Mbulo constituency, Hon. Hammantukur Yettisuri.

NEWS PLATFORM recalled that the committee received 97 memoranda from various communities seeking the creation of additional districts out of which 22 communities were successful.

After the passage of the bill, the speaker of the Assembly, Rt. Hon. Aminu Iya Abbas, directed the clerk to prepare a clean copy of the bill for Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri’s assent.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here