ICPC commends MAUTH Yola, Inaugurates members of anti-corruption and transparency unit

The Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission, ICPC, has commended the management of the Modibbo Adama University Teaching Hospital, MAUTH Yola, Adamawa state for the wonderful performance on the transparency and integrity index.

The commendation was made Monday, during the inauguration of the new members of the Anti- Corruption and Transparency Unit, ACTU at the Boardroom of the hospital.

Represented by the Commissioner Adamawa state, George J. Lawal, the ICPC chairman, Prof Bolaji Owasanoye said he was happy to be part of the inauguration, especially with the upgrading of the facility to a teaching hospital.

ICPC commended the ACTU activities in MAUTH Yola as one of the best in the country, where he challenged the newly appointed members to not only maintain the tempo but to go beyond.

The Chief Medical Director of the hospital, Prof Auwal Muhammad Abubakar has commended the ICPC for recognising MAUTH Yola as a worthy key partner and the outgoing ACTU members for the credible performance, presenting the hospital as one of the Best MDAs.

The CMD has promised to continue sponsoring the ACTU activities and members for trainings and retraining.

The new chairman ACTU MAUTH Yola, Dr Dahiru Aminu M.C. has on behalf of the the inaugurated members promised to meet up with the challenge of excellence as a legacy established by the previous ACTU teams.

Dr Aminu thanked the management of MAUTH Yola for finding them credibily worthy for the challenging task, where he commended the ICPC for the inauguration.

Dr Aminu’s team, though the pioneer with the upgrading of the hospital, it is the third with the establishment of the hospital from the FMC days.

The pioneer ACTU committee was that led by Dr Esther Malgwi, it used to be one of the best ACTU units in the country. It was followed by Dr Barkindo Muhammad that is also rated as one of the best ACTU units in country.

The following is the list of the newly inaugurated ACTU members of MAUTH Yola

1 Dr Dahiru Aminu M.C. Chairman
2 Mr Mohammed Ibrahim (Audit) Investigation Officer
3 Mr Etim Emmanuel (Lab Science) Inspection Officer
4 Mr Abraham Peters Emmanuel (Finance) Investigation Officer
Mr Gabriel E. Musa (Nursing Services) Prevention Officer
6 Mr Inuwa Adams Madu (Med Records) Ethics and Compliance Officer
7 Mrs Husseina Bubakari Bello (Admin) Enlightenment Officer/Secretary

The Anti- Corruption and Transparency Unit (ACTU), was established by the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) as one of the implementation mechanisms for its Mandate on prohibition and prevention of corruption especially in the Public Service. Anti-Corruption Units are established in Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) of government and operate as autonomous outfits with functional linkages with the office of the Chief Executives of the MDAs.

For the purpose of exercising its power of System Study and Review in Section 6 (b)-(d) of the Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Act, 2000 (ICPC ACT, 2000), the Commission made a request to the Executive Arm of Government to establish ACTU in all Ministries and other Government establishments. The approved request was followed by a Directive from the Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation (OHCSOF) through a Circular, Ref. No. OHCSF/MSO/192/94, dated 2nd October, 2001. Funding for the Unit is to be provided by the respective MDAs, as contained in another Circular, Ref. No. OE/MS/MSO/196/S.1/7, dated 16th April 2003, from the OHCSOF.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here