UK issues fresh terror alert, warns citizens to avoid 12 Nigerian states

The UK has issued a fresh security advice to its citizens in Nigeria and others planning to travel to the country.

In its updated foreign advisory, UK’s Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office warned its citizens to avoid traveling to at least 12 states in Nigeria.

It, however, warned that some other states should be travelled to only if it is essential.

The fresh terror alert is coming barely two weeks after the UK issued an earlier warning of possible terrorists’ attack on the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

The UK said in the updated advisory published on its website, on Monday, “The FCDO no longer advises against all but essential travel to the Federal Capital Territory, including the city of Abuja, but risks remain, and further details about the continued threat from terrorism in this region has been added. The FCDO advice against travelling to other areas of Nigeria remains in place.

“The FCDO advises against all travel to Borno State, Yobe, Adamawa, Gombe, Kaduna, Katsina, Zamfara, and the riverine areas of Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers, Akwa Ibom and Cross River states.”

It listed other states as risks areas and only advised travels to the places on very essential basis.

“The FCDO advises against all but essential travel to Bauchi State, Kano Jigawa, Niger, Sokoto, Kogi, within 20km of the border with Niger in Kebbi State, Abia, non-riverine areas of Delta, Bayelsa and Rivers states, Plateau, and Taraba states,” it said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here