Senate President: 72 Non-Serving Senators Endorse Akpabio

As the race for the 10th Senate presidency gets ‘tougher’, 72 non-serving senators have endorsed former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, to head the 10th Senate.

A former senator representing Kano Central, Basheer Garba Lado, in a press conference in Abuja on Monday, on behalf of the group expressed support for the zoning of the position of the president of the 10th senate, to the south-south geo-political zone of Nigeria.

Addressing the press, Lado said:

We are a group of non-serving Senators of the Second to the Fourth Republics.

We have invited you today to announce our position with regards recent developments which will no doubt affect our progress as a nation.

Before we begin however, we wish to sincerely commend our President/Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, Federal Republic of Nigeria, President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, for providing exceptional leadership over a very challenging period of our national journey.

We also wish to congratulate and extend our best wishes to the incoming President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, Federal Republic of Nigeria, His Excellency, Distinguished Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu for his excellent electoral campaign and well deserved victory.

We believe that our President Elect H.E. Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu is an inspirational leader with a clear vision.

His Excellency has consistently demonstrated a high sense of responsibility, maturity, doggedness and empathy. These attributes are imperatives for effective leadership and good governance.

We also acknowledge the articulate, focused and able Vice President-elect, H.E. Senator Kashim Shettima Mustapha whose contributions, political weight and wise support contributed in no small measure to the success we are celebrating today.

We must also recognise the tireless efforts of the National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, H.E. Senator Abdullahi Adamu, CON, as well as commitment of members of the NWC who demonstrated wisdom and fair play that successfully guided our party to this critical stage in our political development.

The high level of integrity exhibited by our Party’s national chairman in the successful general elections cannot be overstated.

We, in the spirit of equity, fairness, political expedience and following extensive consultations with stakeholders, hereby express our total support for the zoning of the position of the President of the 10th Senate, to the South-South geo-political zone of Nigeria.

We also affirm our unfettered support for the position of the President of the 10th Senate who also doubles as the Chairman of the National Assembly to be conferred on His Excellency, Distinguished Senator Godswill Obot Akpabio, CON.

The position of Senate President represents the third position in hierarchy of our current democratic dispensation.

This position carries considerable weight in discharging vital constitutional responsibilities and for charting the right course for our national development.

It is also important that the holder of such a position enjoys the confidence and support of the party leadership and that of his peers as Senator Godswill Akpabio undoubtedly does.

With this same spirit of fairness, we also affirm our solid support that the position of Deputy President of the 10th Senate be conceded to Distinguished Senator Barau I. Jubril, CON, representing Kano North Senatorial Zone, Kano State.

It is our conviction that a diverse and united legislative leadership is critical to good governance.

At a trying period in our nation’s political history, the National Assembly requires experienced and level headed leaders at the helm of its affairs.

Gentlemen of the press, as you are all aware, the stakes are high and that a successful transition to a new political dispensation is key in ensuring national unity, cohesion and overall progress as one nation.

In view of the above, we wish to respectfully appeal to all other aspirants to these key positions to kindly support our position by withdrawing their respective bids.

We believe that their withdrawal and cooperation will reduce the acrimony that commonly characterises the jostle for power in the National Assembly amongst the geo-political zones

This will go a long way in ensuring a peaceful and smooth take-off of the incoming administration.

Thank you for your audience.

I wish you all a good day.

Amidst all the support received from some persons in the All Progressives Congress, Akpabio has not formally declared his intention to run for the presidency seat.

See full list of the senators below:

Basheer Garba Lado
Ben Ayade
George Akume
Rilwan Akanbi
Barnabas Gemade 
Grace Bent
Binta Masi Garba
Ayogu Eze
Andy Uba
Ibrahim Ida
Olorunnimbe Mamora 
Anthony Adeniyi 
Ganiyu Solomon 
Gbenga Obadara 
Gbenga Kaka 
Musiliu Obanikoro 
Arise Ayo 
Felix Kolawole Bajomo 
Hassain Mudashiru 
Domingo Obende 
Wilson Ake 
Ita Enang 
Heineken Lokpobiri 
Clever Ikisikpo
Ita Giwa
Ibrahim Musa 
Alex Kadiri 
Ocheja Emma Dangana
Jibriu Wowo
Isa Maina
Mohammed Ohiare 
Abubakar Sodangi
Joseph Akaagerger 
Jack Tilley Gyado 
Abubakar Tutare 
Bello Tukur 
Ahmed Barata 
Abba Aji 
Mohammed A. Mohammed 
Umar Idris 
Adamu Talba 
Sidi Ali 
Timothy Adudu 
Ishaq Adebayo Salman 
Akin Odunsi 
Seye Ogunlewe 
Fatima Raji Rasaki 
Lanre Tejuoso 
Nkechi Nwaogu 
Margery Chuba Okadigbo
Mohammed Saleh 
Sani Kanba 
Abubakar Abdullahi Naamo 
Danladi Sankara
Mohammed Ibrahim 
Sola Adeyeye
Anthony Agbo 
Ikechukwu Obior
Chris Adighije 
Emma Anosike 
Jalo Zarami
Alkali Jajere
Oladipo Odujinrin
Mohammed Alkali
Sunday Ogbuoji
Abu Ibrahim
Bello Maitama
Saddiq Yar’adua
Jide Omoworare
Anthony Manzo
Aminu Inuwa
Magnus Abeh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here